About Monmouthshire County Council

Monmouthshire County Council is the elected governing body for Monmouthshire with 43 elected councillors and over 3000 staff.  Headquarters are in County Hall in Usk although there are Council Hubs in the towns of Abergavenny, Monmouth, Chepstow, Caldicot and Usk where residents can make enquiries.

Monmouthshire County Council has an agile working policy whereby, where appropriate, staff don’t have specific desks and have their own laptops so they can work whenever and wherever suits them best. The ethos being that work is something you do, not somewhere you go.

Monmouthshire County Council has four main priorities which cuts across all its work, which are:


Safeguarding Vulnerable People

Supporting Businesses and Job Creation, and

Maintaining Locally Accessible Services

Monmouthshire County Council is committed to business growth and wealth creation in the County as evidenced by the recently launched business support website www.monmouthshire.biz .  The Council also aims to be an open and approachable council and everything on the website is published under the Open Government Licence. The aim is to continually improve access to data by making it available in an easy to access format.